Draelos honored with inaugural SCC Florence Wall Women in Cosmetic Chemistry Award

Written on: September 3, 2019 by SprayTM

The winner of the Society of Cosmetic Chemists’ (SCC) inaugural Florence Wall Women in Cosmetic Chemistry Award is Zoe Diana Draelos.

“Dr. Draelos is recognized as a pioneer is cosmetic dermatology, having written the first medical book on the topic in 1991, Cosmetics in Dermatology,” said Erica O’Grady, SCC Executive Director & CEO. “Zoe is a well-respected, inspirational leader in the personal care industry and a distinguished contributor to the fields of both cosmetic science and dermatology.”

Draelos has authored 14 books, contributed chapters to 38 textbooks, written 78 posters and 541 published papers, served as principal investigator on 621 studies, delivered 350+ oral presentations, and served on or contributed to 38 editorial boards. Draelos is a past member of the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Dermatology and the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery and has been honored by numerous industry organizations for her contributions to dermatology and for her research contributions to advance the specialty chemicals industry. 

“Much like the namesake of this award, Dr. Draelos has made significant technical contributions in the cosmetic science field,” said Kelly Dobos, SCC President and Cosmetics Technical Manager for Americas, Sun Chemical Corp. “I am excited to present this inaugural award to her during the Society’s 73rd Annual Scientific Meeting on December 17, 2019 at the Sheraton NY Times Square,” she added.

Florence Wall Women in Cosmetic Chemistry Award, the Society’s first-ever award honoring women’s scientific and leadership contributions to the cosmetics and personal care industry. This award is supported through Concept to Commerce by Rodan + Fields.