SCC announces 2020 awards to be given at Dec. 11 virtual showcase

Written on: November 12, 2020 by SprayTM

Howard Epstein

The Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) has awarded the Maison G. deNavarre Medal Award to Howard A. Epstein, Director of Technical Services at EMD Performance Materials. The medal is SCC’s highest honor, recognizing an individual for accomplishments and activities supporting the best interests of the cosmetics and personal care industry.

“Howard Epstein is recognized and well respected by professionals in the cosmetic and personal care industry for his outstanding technical contributions in functional skin care technologies,” said Erica O’Grady, CAE, Executive Director/CEO of SCC. “He is a renowned researcher and expert in skin product development and a deserved recipient of the Society’s highest award.”

Dr. Epstein has authored chapters in various cosmetic technology textbooks, including Harry’s Cosmeticology, and holds eight patents and two patent applications. Howard has also previously served as editor of the SCC’s Journal of Cosmetic Science and is a member of the International Academy of Dermatology. He is on the editorial board of the dermatological journals, Clinics in Dermatology and SKINmed, representing the cosmetics industry to dermatologists.

Nava Dayan

SCC has also honored Nava Dayan with the Florence Wall Women in Cosmetic Chemistry Award. It recognizes women’s scientific and leadership contributions to the cosmetics and personal care industry. This award is supported through Concept to Commerce by Rodan + Fields.

For the past 30 years, Dayan has offered a wide range of consulting services to the pharmaceutical, cosmetic, personal care, research entities, regulatory agencies and academic institutions through Dr. Nava Dayan LLC. She has worked on inventions that resulted in many patent applications, delivered 100+ oral presentations, has 150 publication credits in numerous industry-respected journals and in five books, and served as educator and advisory board committee member at several professional organizations.

“Much like the namesake of this award, Dr. Dayan has made noteworthy technical contributions to the cosmetic science field,” said Mindy Goldstein, 2020 SCC President. “As a fellow entrepreneur and woman in STEM, I am delighted to acknowledge Nava for fierce dedication to skin care product R&D and her involvement and influence in the cosmetic science industry,” she added.

SCC’s other 2020 award winners include:

  • MERIT AWARD: Martha Tate of Tate Science
  • YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARD (sponsored by Surfatech): Lex Pelger of CV Sciences for his paper, ‘CBD, GRAS & The Largest Organ’

    Martha Tate

  • GREEN STAR AWARD (sponsored by Colonial Chemical): Samantha Guertin of Aveda for her Botanical Repair Strengthening Leave-In Treatment
  • SOCIETY OF COSMETIC CHEMISTS AWARD (sponsored by Hallstar): Juan Brito of BASF Corp. for his entitled, ‘Formulating with Zinc Oxide’
  • HANS A. SCHAEFFER AWARD (sponsored by Lonza): Philip Ludwig of BASF Corp. for his paper, ‘Quorum Quenching: The New Way to Keep Microbiome Under Control’
  • JOSEPH P. CIAUDELLI AWARD (sponsored by Croda): Manuel Gamez-Garcia of Ashland Specialty Ingredients for his paper, ‘Protein and Cellular Structures Stabilizing the Shape of Curly and Textured Hair: A Finite Element Analysis’
  • SHAW MUDGE AWARD (sponsored by the Mudge Family): Anna Langerveld of Genemarkers for her paper, ‘CBD: Next Big Thing in Skincare’
  • DES GODDARD AWARD: Hy Si Bui of L’Oréal USA for his paper, ‘Physical Chemistry of Long-Lasting Color Cosmetics

All will be presented their awards virtually at SCC’s 74th Annual Scientific Meeting & Showcase on Dec. 11. For more info, visit: