SCC elects Executive Officers & Area Directors for 2022

Written on: October 4, 2021 by SprayTM

The Society of Cosmetic Chemists (SCC) announced the election results for the organization’s 2022 executive officers and area directors. Together with the Board of Directors, they are the governing body focused on the mission, strategy and goals of the Society and are responsible for representing the interests of more than 6,000 individual cosmetics and personal care industry members globally.

Effective January 1, 2022, SCC’s Executive Officers are:

  • President: Michelle Hines, PhD; Mary Kay, Inc., Lewisville, TX; SCC Southwest Chapter
  • VP: Mark Chandler; ACT Solutions Corp., Newark, DE; SCC Mid-Atlantic Chapter
  • VP-Elect: Anthony O’Lenick; Nascent Technologies Corp., Dacula, GA; SCC Southeast  Chapter
  • Secretary: Qihong Zhang, PhD; The Estee Lauder Cos., Melville, NY; SCC New York Chapter
  • Treasurer: Karen Chun; Symrise, Inc., Carlsbad, CA; SCC California Chapter

“I am extremely honored and excited to serve the SCC as President in 2022,” said Michelle Hines, PhD, Director, Product Formulation at Mary Kay.

“I look forward to working with my fellow Board members and capitalizing on their wealth of knowledge and experience in our industry. We are committed to a future-focused organization with increased engagement opportunities of value to our members.”

The other voting members of the Board of Directors are:

Senior Directors

Area I: Marie Thadal (Coptis, Inc.)
Area II: Melissa Christenson (BRIDGE, Inc.)
Area III: Angie Inouye (Charkit Chemical Corp.)
Area IV: Angela Eppler, PhD (Pfizer Consumer Healthcare)
Area V: Kayla Ivey (Gojo Industries, Inc.)

Directors (*newly-elected)

  • Area I:*Volodymyr Onyshchak (The Estee Lauder Companies)
  • Area II:*Sophie Bonham (Cosmos Corporation)
  • Area III: *Aaron Peterson (Barnet
  • Area IV:*Cubie Lamb (J. Strickland & Company)
  • Area V:*Lionel Ripoll, PhD

They are joined by Immediate Past President Liz Streland (Nagase Specialty Materials) and IFSCC Representative Peter Tsolis (The Estee Lauder Cos.), both of whom serve in an ex-officio capacity.

“I am pleased to welcome our new Officers and Directors. Each one of them brings a unique background and diverse perspective to the table as we continue to position SCC as the premier education, networking and scientific resource in the cosmetics and personal care industry,” said Erica L. O’Grady, CAE, SCC’s CEO. “Their passion for serving the Society will help drive value for our members and our chapters,” she added.

About SCC
Having celebrated its 75th Anniversary in 2020, the SCC is the oldest and largest non-profit membership organization serving the cosmetics and personal care industry. Dedicated to the advancement of cosmetic science, our mission is to further the interests and recognition of cosmetic scientists while maintaining the confidence of the public in the cosmetics and personal care industry. SCC provides unparalleled education and networking for more than 6,000 members globally and via 19 chapters across Greater North America. Visit for more information.