Spray Patterns

Written on: June 1, 2012 by Ava Caridad

Spray Patterns

Keep America Beautiful, Inc. (KAB) announced the availability of its 2012 Graffiti Hurts Grant Program, designed to assist communities in augmenting their local graffiti prevention activities. With municipal
government funding under increasing burdens, KAB hopes that the grant program will serve as a catalyst to combat the economic and quality-oflife
setback caused by graffiti vandalism.

Keep America Beautiful is offering six grants for the 2012 program: four cash grants of $2,500 each; two graffitiresistant paint product grants from The Sherwin-Williams Co. valued at $2,500 each; and one FlashCAM from Q-Star Technology, valued at $6,100.

“Preventing and abating graffiti vandalism helps to keep our cities and towns cleaner, safer and more livable,” said Keep America Beautiful President and CEO Matt McKenna. “Keep America Beautiful values our partnership with Sherwin-Williams for bringing needed resources to communities, raising
awareness about the harmful effects of graffiti vandalism and activating proven prevention methods.”

Local governments, police departments, youth groups, downtown associations, crime prevention organizations and other groups dedicated to eradicating graffiti vandalism are encouraged to apply. (Businesses that make or operate graffiti-removal equipment or technologies are not eligible). Proposed projects can address graffiti prevention and education, eradication, or enforcement of local anti-graffiti laws. Programs that focus on prevention initiatives, including Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design (CPTED), and engaging and educating youth are encouraged.

Spray Patterns

Home Care Industries, Inc. announced that their Febreze Carpet Care product line was featured on the “Designing Spaces” homeimprovement television series on the Lifetime Channel. HomeCare licenses the Febreze brand for carpet cleaning products from The Procter & Gamble Co.

Febreze Carpet Care products include Deep Cleaning Carpet, Rug and Upholstery Formulas such as Oxygen Action, Advanced Pet Solution, Oxy, Advanced Pet, Oxy for Truck & Cars, Spot & Stain Remover Sprays and Pretreaters, ToughSPOT OXY Stain Remover & Pretreater, Pet Stain & Odor Remover with Oxygen Action and ToughSPOT OXY for Cars & Trucks.

“We felt that the Febreze Carpet Care product line was a perfect fit for our ‘Spring Cleaning Tips from the Pros’ theme this year,” said Jennifer Giordano, Supervising Production Coordinator from Designing Spaces. The segments ran in March and April, so look for reruns.

The deadline for all applications is June 15, 2012. All interested communities and organizations should complete the online application available at www.kab.org/grants. Grant winners will be announced by Sept.12, 2012.

In a recent article titled “How to Recycle Anything—An A-to-Z guide of what can be tossed into which bin” by Natalie Ermann Russell in Real Simple magazine, the first item on the list was aerosol cans:

“Aerosol cans: These can usually be recycled with other cans, as long as you pull off the plastic cap and empty the canister completely…”

We already knew that, but now everyone else does too.

Spray PatternsMore than 250 guests attended the annual Pratt Institute & Luxe Pack Art of Packaging Award Gala in New York City on April 17. The gala, which supports the Marc Rosen Scholarship & Education Fund for Packaging by Design and raises funds for scholarships for graduating packaging design students at Pratt Institute, raised $300,000 at the event and has brought in more than $3.5 million over the last 23 years.

The fundraiser honored Shiseido for its outstanding commitment to packaging design; Heidi Manheimer, CEO, Shiseido Cosmetics America, and Katsuhiko Shibuya, Creative Director, Shiseido Co., Ltd from the headquarters in Tokyo, accepted the award. This year, 2012, marks the celebration of Shiseido’s 140th anniversary, which coincidentally marks Pratt Institute’s 125th anniversary.

Pictured, left to right is Marc Rosen and student scholarship winners Maija Rozenfelde (Latvia), Aaron Mickelson (New York, NY), Wei-Hsin Lin (Taiwan) and Renato Martins Cerqueira (Brazil).