Former CEO Ernie Rosenberg Receives ACI Chairman’s Award

Written on: February 1, 2018 by SprayTM

Ernie Rosenberg, who served as the American Cleaning Institute’s President & CEO for 17 years, is the recipient of the special ACI Chairman’s Award, recognizing his outstanding leadership of the association for the cleaning product supply chain.

He was honored during the 2018 ACI Annual Meeting & Industry Convention.

Joining what was then known as The Soap and Detergent Association (SDA) in 1999, Rosenberg shepherded SDA’s move from New York City to Washington, D.C. in 2000. He then helped build upon an already well-respected foundation of technical and consumer outreach expertise by strengthening a core team of scientific, advocacy, communications and outreach specialists that quickly established the association as a go-to source for information in our nation’s capital.

During Rosenberg’s tenure, the association became one of the first industry organizations to develop a core set of sustainability principles, programs and public reports, which are now looked to as models for other trade associations.

Under Rosenberg’s leadership, SDA transformed into the American Cleaning Institute, a name which better reflected the marketplace it represents, the cleaning product supply chain that comprises ACI’s membership base, and the fundamental scientific and technical expertise that informs its policies, advocacy and outreach.

ACI also moved into new headquarters and established a new location of the industry’s critical business-to-business meeting, the ACI Annual Meeting & Industry Convention, which has grown in stature and reputation in the past decade.

“The organization that was SDA and became ACI flourished under Ernie Rosenberg’s leadership,” said Rutger Beelaerts, General Manager, Intermediates Americas, Shell Chemical LP and Chair of ACI’s Board of Directors. “The foundation of ACI became stronger thanks to Ernie’s dedication and stewardship over 17 years and building a terrific staff that is at the core of ACI’s success over the years. The Chairman’s Award recognizes those contributions.”